Windows Delayed Write Failed On Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini

maxtoronetouch4miniOn December 26th 2008, I bought a external hard-drive, Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini with 160 GB capacity and it cost about 750.000 IDR. At the first time I use this external hard-drive I was very disappointed, I cannot use this external hard-drive at all. When I plugged in USB device to my laptop, my Windows XP cannot recognize this new hardware. At first time, I suspected this Windows XP cannot recognize this hardware, then I switch my operating system into Linux Open Suse, the other operating system that I‘ve been choose for my own computer, but the fact, I got one more disappointed feel, this Open Suse also cannot recognize this new hardware.

Well I think there’s nothing wrong with my laptop or the operating system. It must be this external hard-drive got some error when it comes out from its vendor. Anything broken maybe or I don’t know, obviously this is about this external hard-drive and its not about my chosen operating system, so I decide to returning back to the shop where this external hard-drive have been bought by me. At the shop, this hard-drive checked by the technician of the shop. And the result of this checking is make feel better, indeed this external hard-drive had something broken that can make it can be used. Then the shop replaces this external hard-drive with the other new external hard-drive that was still same type and same capacity with the broken one.

Before I took home this new external hard-drive, the technician makes sure that this new hardware is on good condition by trying first by him self. Indeed this one is on good condition and ready to use, so I agreed to take it home with me as a replacement of the broken one.

At home, I started to use this hard-drive to save the data which is very important to me. Because, indeed, I bought this external hard-drive in order to backing up all the important data. Backing up the data became a part of my computer activity.

Actually, I want to split this external hard-drive into two partitions, but I can only do that 2 days after, because I didn’t have a software on my laptop that have an ability to split the partition of this external hard-drive. Well as a customer I thought, I want to know the quality of the stuff that I bought rite? So I planned to do some test on this external hard-drive. My first simple test is copying the large size of files from my laptop into this external hard-drive. So I try to test it by copying a file that have 500 MB of its size with one single copy and one single paste, the result is not bad, this new external hard-drive capable to receive the data directly from a single copy-paste for 500 MB size of files. Actually this test is goes to USB cable, to find out whether this USB cable is capable or not to transferring the 500 MB file size.

And then I try to copy-paste a data file that have 1GB of size, and the result is still good, but when I try to copy-paste a data file that have 2GB file size, this hardware is apparently showing its weakness. When the data copying into this external hard-drive, and the progress just reached 45% of copied file, there’s an alert balloon showing up at the bottom-corner of my desktop windows, “Windows Delayed Write Failedand bla..bla..bla… now I can found out that this external hard-drive was cannot resist for transferring data file that large then 2 GB file size. And then I try to delete the failed copied file, but I feel so disappointed, this failed copied file cannot be deleted, when I try to delete, there’s a windows dialog showed up, telling that this failed copied file cannot be deleted. So I try to delete the file using Dos Console, and it still cannot delete. I try to switch to Linux open suse, and its still same, its still cannot be delete, so I left this failed copied file. I will remove it by formatting this external hard-drive and split its partition into 2 partitions. So this external hard-drive will have clean storage.

Two days later, I split this external hard-drive into 2 partitions with same size, each of this partition have 80 GB capacity. And then I try to do above test again, this test was failed the windows still have this windows delayed write failed.

And then I format again, and do the splitting once again, and do the test once again, but now I’ll test this external hard-drive using Linux operating system. Its little weird, the result that goes with Linux, found there’s none of this external hard-drive had some error, the copy of 2GB of file size was run properly, there’s no corrupted file found.

Hmm, I started to think, maybe there’s a problem with my Windows XP when the 1GB file size or above being copy to the external hard-drive. I tried to find out by browse Microsoft web site on FAQ and Bugs page. And I also search another web site or articles in the internet. By these browsing, I can make some statement that there are problems on the Windows system cache when we copy the data with a large size onto external hard-drive. Even the answer of Microsoft website about this problem focused on the failed of the external hard-drive connector, such as USB cable, etc, I still keep the statement that this is all about Windows XP system cache problem.

Then I try to find out once more by browse the internet, the possibility of any one else having same problem like me and how he or she solve the problem. After two days, finally I found a related article, and in these article also written how to solve these problem. Unfortunately, I forgot the link, but the important thing is, this link is not the Microsoft website or this external hard-drive vendor web site, but some one else which have same problem with me.

Ok, the focus of this problem fixing process is, by enlarging Windows system cache. I used software to change to change this windows system cache. I know this software also from the article that I’ve read before. This software name is Cacheman made by Outer Technologies. This software is not free, and I used version 5.0. I used this version because we can still use this software even we don’t do any registration. :P

After the installation of this software is successful on my Windows XP, refer to the article I made some changes on my Windows XP system cache, and then I restart my Windows XP and make some test again just like before.

The test by copying 2GB file size to the external hard-drive running well, there’s no more Windows Delayed Write Failed, I’m happy. Then I try to copy file that larger then 2GB of file size and its still have no problem at all. After do test by copying 5GB file size onto this external hard-drive and its success, I stop the test, and I think the test is finish.

I’ve planned to test for a week, before I can make a decision that this test is really-really passed. And when this article written I still cannot found a same problem with before. Then I decide that Windows Delayed Write Failed that happen on my external hard-drive is solved, I can use this external hard-drive normally.

Below are the steps, when I’m using Cacheman5.0 to change my Windows XP system cache in order to solve the Windows Delayed Write Failed problem that happen on my brand new Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini 160 GB.

On show wizard menu, I choose all, and for the entire window that showed up, here are the details:

1.Disk Cache: choose Balance
2.Icon Cache: choose Set large maximum Icon Cache size
3.Unload DLLs from Memory: choose Enable
4.Disable Paging Executive: choose Enable
5.IO Page Lock Limit: choose Large IO page lock limit value
6.Disable NTFS last access update: choose Enable
7.Disable creation of short filenames: choose Enable
8.Reserve more space for the Master File Table: not enable (don’t check)
9.Defragment hard disk when idle: choose Enable
10. Hung App Timeout: choose Optimize
11. Wait to Kill App / Service Timeout: choose Optimize
12. Menu Show Delay: choose Optimize
13. Filename Completion: not enable (don’t check)

That’s it, Windows system cache setting using Cacheman on my Windows XP, to prevent Windows Delayed Write Failed problem.

Menteng, January 4th, 2009

I Hope this will helpful

Josescalia

One thought on “Windows Delayed Write Failed On Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini

  1. Pingback: Windows Delayed Write Failed On Maxtor One Touch 4 Mini | XML Developer

Leave a Reply

